An Intern is Hired

August 28, 2015 will always be a day I never forget. Why? Because it was the day I was given the chance to prove myself. I had been interning at GTN since January of that year. Never in my life, would I have imagined that only a few months later, I would be hired part-time.

On top of that, I was hired for something, I didn’t know and wasn’t sure I would enjoy. One word: SPORTS. It was scary knowing GTN wanted to hire me for something I really wasn’t experienced in, and that I didn’t really enjoy, but now I am thankful they gave me a chance.

I have learned so much since being hired as an Associate Producer and Studio Manager. I know how to manage people, I know how to write in sports lingo, I know what to look for when shooting highlights, I know what questions to ask coaches and players, and more than anything, it has made me grow as an individual.

It has provided another bullet point of experience on my resume, and I know it has given me future opportunities, given sports is a huge part of the American culture. I am happy to be able to say I have experience in football, basketball, and by the end of the week I can add gymnastics to that list. And from here on out, I hope that the list only continues to grow. And looking at this picture, I know how hard I was thinking and considering the position in front of me. But, who knows….maybe I’ll end up being a sports reporter or sports producer one day.

 

Leave a Reply

