Marketing Yourself

Having a job in the media is interesting. While regular people submit resumes and cover letters, although you do that too, you are also asked to submit a reporter reel, sports reel, sometimes even a producing reel. Or you are invited down to show off your talent. But, nowadays, there is more to marketing yourself than just a reel, but a website to show off all of your work. I began my website a year ago, and since then I have watched it grow from one piece, to many pieces. My website is customized by the stations I have worked at. I have WUFT-FM, WUFT-TV, GTN News, and ZION Magazine showcased on there. My portfolio is my website, and it shows you every piece I have done, not just the ones I end up putting on my reel. It has a mixture of my “Okay” work, as well as my best work. I have even used one video in particular, that can not only be found on my Youtube Channel, but also in my last post.

In media, marketing is everything. If you don’t put yourself out there, how do you expect to get a job? If you do not make sure your face is out there (minus Facebook and Instagram posts), how do you expect people to know who you are? Make that professional Twitter account. Create that website. Upload your work. Show off your talents. Someone who tries their hardest to show their characteristics and that is a go-getter and tries to reach their ambitions, is far better than someone who just sits back and waits for great things to happen to them.

Leave a Reply

